

May 11, 2016/Calendar No.10

N 160255 HKK

IN THE MATTER OF a communication dated March 18,2016, from the Executive Director of the Landmarks Preservation Commission regarding the landmark designation of the East New York Savings Bank, Parkway Branch Building (Block 1390, Lot 44), by the Landmarks Preservation Commission on March 8, 2016 (Designation List No. 486, LP-2472), Borough of Brooklyn, Community District 8.

Pursuant to Section 3020.8(a) and (b) of the City Charter, the City Planning Commission shall submit to the City Council a report with respect to the relation of the designation by the Landmarks Preservation Commission, whether of a historic district or a landmark, to the Zoning Resolution, projected public improvements, and any plans for the development, growth, improvement or renewal of the area involved.

On March 8, 2016, the Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) designated the East New York Savings Bank Building (Block 1390, Lot 44) as a City Landmark. The landmark site is located at the juncture of Weeksville and Brownsville, in Brooklyn's Community District 8. There are several Historic District's located in Community District 8, including Crown Heights North Historic District I, Crown Heights North Historic District II, Crown Heights North III Historic District and Prospect Heights Historic District.

The East New York Savings Bank Building is located on the northwest corner of Eastern Parkway and Utica Avenue. It faces Eastern Parkway, a New York City Scenic Landmark that runs from Grand Army Plaza to Brownsville. The building was designed by New York City architects Holmes & Winslow who specialized in bank design. It has been describe as one of the most impressive structures along Eastern Parkway. The parkway has 6-lanes of traffic and is lined with trees and promenades. It was built in 1927-1928, shortly after the opening of the IRT subway which attracted considerable commercial activity to Utica Avenue.

The proposed landmark building is a sophisticated neo-Romanesque-style building with handsome Art Deco-style reliefs. The bronze doors that face Eastern Parkway, as well as other reliefs and medallions, were created by .Rene P. Chambellan, who created architectural sculptures for many New York City landmarks, including the Chanin and Daily News buildings, as well as fountains at Rockefeller Center. The building also has decorations on its eastern facade, facing Utica Avenue. In 1929 the design journal Metal Arts described the building as "delightful" and "one of the finest bank structures of its kind."

The building is situated in a C4-3 zoning district, which allows a maximum FAR of 3.4. The 10,249 square-foot zoning lot could be developed with 34,847 square feet of floor area. The zoning lot on which the landmark is located contains approximately 16,352 square feet of floor area (1.59 FAR) and therefore has approximately 18,495 square feet of unused development rights available for transfer.

Pursuant to Section 74-79 of the Zoning Resolution, a landmark building may transfer its unused development rights to a lot contiguous to the zoning lot occupied by the landmark building or one which is across the street and opposite to the zoning lot occupied by the landmark building, or in the case of a corner lot, one which fronts on the same street intersection as the lot occupied by the landmark. There are eight potential receiving sites for the transfer of the landmark's unused floor area.

Pursuant to Section 74-11 of the Zoning Resolution, landmark buildings or buildings within Historic Districts are eligible to apply for use and bulk waivers upon application to the Landmarks Preservation Commission.

The subject landmark does not conflict with the Zoning Resolution. Furthermore, the Commission is not aware of any conflicts between the subject landmark designation and projected public improvements or any plans for development growth, improvement or renewal in the vicinity of the landmark.

CARLWEISBROD, Chairman
KENNETH J. KNUCKLES, ESQ., Vice Chairman
RAYANN BESSER, IRWIN G. CANTOR, P.E., ALFRED C. CERULLO, III,
MICHELLE R. DE LA UZ, CHERYL COHEN EFFRON,
ANNA HAYES LEVIN, ORLANDO MARIN, LARISA ORTIZ, Commissioners

2 N 160255 HKK