

March 10, 2010/Calendar No. 7

N 100226 HKX

IN THE MATTER OF a communication dated January 21, 2010, from the Executive Director of Landmarks Preservation Commission regarding the landmark designation of Dollar Savings Bank, located at 2792 Third Avenue (aka 495 Willis Avenue), (Block 2307, Lot 54), by the Landmarks Preservation Commission on January 12, 2010 (List No.425, LP No. 2370), Borough of the Bronx, Community District 1.

Pursuant to Section 3020.8(b) of the City Charter, the City Planning Commission shall submit to the City Council a report with respect to the relation of any designation by the Landmarks Preservation Commission, whether of a historic district or a landmark, to the Zoning Resolution, projected public improvements, and any plans for development, growth, improvement, or renewal of the area involved.

On January 12, 2010 the Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) designated the Dollar Savings Bank at 2792 Third Avenue as a city landmark.

The former Dollar Savings Bank is located on a triangular block bounded by Willis Avenue, Third Avenue and East 147th Street in the Hub Commercial Center of Community District 1 in the Borough of the Bronx. The Hub is the oldest shopping district in the borough with extensive inter-modal transportation accessibility. Roberto Clemente Plaza is located immediately north of the landmark site.

The Dollar Savings Bank was founded in 1887 by John Haffen of the prominent Haffen family. The first thrift institution to be organized in the Bronx, the Dollar Savings Bank was structured as a mutual savings bank, and it was managed for the benefits of the depositors, assuring that

most savings would not leave the borough. The bank was designed by the renowned firm of Renwick, Aspinwall & Tucker in 1919 in the Classical Revival Style, a style adopted by many savings institutions during the last decades of the 19th and the first decades of the 20th centuries. This impressive building is clad entirely in limestone and sits on a trapezoidal corner lot with facades facing three streets. The window fenestration is distinct on each façade. The building is crowned by a stone frieze engraved with DOLLAR SAVINGS BANK. This distinctive bank building is a significant reminder of the Classical Revival style banks built in New York City at this time. The bank's design has the visual continuity of classical architecture linked with civic pride that is symbolic of the bank's wealth and stability that typifies the characteristics of the Classical Revival bank building style. The building now houses the Bronx Temple of Seventh Day Adventist Church.

The landmark site is located in a C4-4 zoning district. With an allowable floor area ratio (FAR) of 3.44, the zoning lot could be developed with approximately 26,030 square feet of floor area. The Former Dollar Savings Bank contains approximately 21,036 square feet of floor area. Therefore, there are approximately 4,994 square feet of floor area available for transfer.

Pursuant to Section 74-79 of the Zoning Resolution, a landmark building may transfer its unused development rights to a lot contiguous to the zoning lot occupied by the landmark or one which is across the street and opposite to the lot occupied by the landmark building or in the case of a corner lot, one which fronts on the same street intersection as the lot occupied by the landmark building.

N 100226 HKX

There are approximately six potential receiving sites available for the transfer of the landmark's

unused floor area.

All landmark buildings or buildings within Historic Districts are eligible to apply for use and

bulk waivers pursuant to Section 74-711 of the Zoning Resolution.

There are no projected public improvements or plans for development, growth, improvement or

renewal in the vicinity of the landmark building.

The subject landmark designation does not conflict with the Zoning Resolution, projected public

improvements or any plans for development, growth, improvement or renewal in the vicinity of

the landmark.

AMANDA M. BURDEN, FAICP, Chair,

KENNETH J. KNUCKLES, Esq., Vice Chairman

ANGELA M. BATTAGLIA, RAYANN BESSER, IRWIN G. CANTOR, P.E.,

ALFRED C. CERULLO, III, BETTY Y. CHEN, MARIA M. DEL TORO,

RICHARD W. EADDY, NATHAN LEVENTHAL, ANNA HAYES LEVIN,

SHRILEY A. MCRAE, KAREN A. PHILLIPS, Commissioners.

N 100226 HKX