COVID-19 and Paid Sick Leave

Workers who have COVID-19 or were in contact with someone with COVID-19 can get sick leave (time off) regardless of immigration status. State and local laws let workers take time off to care for themselves or a family member. For example, workers can take time off to guarantine* or isolate or if their child's school or child care closes. Employers cannot mistreat or punish workers for using or asking for sick leave. This sheet has a summary of all laws.

*To quarantine means to stay away from everyone for 10 days to prevent spreading COVID-19.

SPECIAL LEAVE FOR THE COVID-19 VACCINE

- Workers get leave under STATE law to get vaccinated. See BELOW.
- + NEW! Workers get additional leave under CITY law to get their kids vaccinated. Workers can use accrued CITY leave to get a COVID-19 vaccine booster shot.

See BACK.

STATE

New York State Emergency COVID-19 Paid Sick Leave Law

Who is Covered	What is Covered	Time Covered
All private and public sector workers ordered to quarantine. Workers should call 855-491-2667 to get an order of quarantine. Workers are <i>not covered</i> if they visited an area on New York State's travel advisory for personal travel.	 Paid sick leave is covered for workers ordered to quarantine. For example, they: have COVID-19 symptoms; or have been in close contact with someone with COVID-19. 	 Depending on the size and/or income of the employer, workers can get between 5 to 14 days paid by the employer. Note: Workers can also use Paid Family Leave or disability benefits for the days of quarantine not paid by the employer. Paid sick leave under State law is in addition to accrued sick leave under City law. Workers should use State leave first if they must quarantine.

Contact New York State Department of Labor: Call 844-337-6303 | Visit paidfamilyleave.ny.gov/covid19

New York State Paid Leave for COVID-19 Vaccinations This law is effective from 3/12/2021 through 12/31/2022.

Who is Covered	What is Covered	Time Covered
All private and public sector workers in New York State, regardless of employer size.	 Paid sick leave is covered for workers who get: one COVID-19 vaccine injection if that is what the vaccine requires; or two COVID-19 vaccine injections if that is what the vaccine requires. 	Workers get up to 4 hours per vaccine injection, for a total of up to 8 hours. Note: Workers should use Paid Leave for COVID-19 Vaccinations to get vaccinated. It is in addition to accrued leave under State or City Paid Sick Leave laws. Workers may use accrued other leave to recover from side effects of the COVID-19 vaccine.

? Contact New York State Department of Labor: Call 888-469-7365 | Visit dol.ny.gov and search "paid leave for COVID vaccine"



Consumer and Worker Protection





LOCAL New York City Paid Safe and Sick Leave Law

Who is Covered	What is Covered	Time Covered
All domestic workers (in households) and workers at any size business or nonprofit in New York City (including full-time, part-time, and temporary workers).	 NEW! Dedicated sick leave for child vaccination Covered workers who are parents or legal guardians of kids aged 5-18 or an older child with a mental or physical disability can use leave to: take kids to get the COVID-19 vaccine; care for kids experiencing side effects from the COVID-19 vaccine. Effective dates of dedicated sick leave for child vaccination are 11/2/2021 through 12/31/2022. 	MORE TIME! Available immediately Workers get 4 additional hours of sick leave for: • EACH child; AND • EACH vaccine injection. Note: Dedicated sick leave for child vaccination is in addition to accrued leave.
	 Sick leave is covered for all workers who: get a COVID-19 vaccine booster shot; are sick, including from side effects of the COVID-19 vaccine; have to take kids to get the COVID-19 vaccine; need preventive care; have to quarantine*; seek diagnosis or treatment of an illness, injury, or health condition; or have to care for a family member for the reasons above. *Use STATE leave first. See FRONT. 	 Depends on employer size: (100+ workers) Workers can earn up to 56 hours of sick leave each year. (1-99 workers) Workers can earn up to 40 hours of sick leave each year. Note: All workers earn 1 hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked.
	Sick leave is paid for all domestic workers and non- household workers if the employer has 5 workers or more. Sick leave is unpaid for non-household workers if the employer has less than 5 workers and net income less than \$1 million.	Note: Workers may be eligible for 2 additional days as unpaid leave under NYC's Temporary Schedule Change Law.

Contact NYC Department of Consumer and Worker Protection: Call **311** and say "Paid Safe and Sick Leave" | Visit **nyc.gov/workers** | Email **OLPS@dca.nyc.gov** *Employers only* can chat online at **nyc.gov/BusinessToolbox**.

Note: The federal law (Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA)) was effective from 4/2/2020 through 12/31/2020. To learn more about current federal protections during the pandemic, contact the U.S. Department of Labor at **866-487-9243** or **dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic**.





The NYC Test & Trace Corps makes sure that anyone who tests positive for COVID-19, and their close contacts, have the resources to safely separate in a free hotel, or at home. To learn more about how to safely separate, call **1-212-COVID19** (212-268-4319).