CITY PLANNING COMMISSION

August 8, 2012 / Calendar No. 11

N 120410 HKQ

IN THE MATTER OF a communication dated June 21, 2012, from the Executive Director of the Landmarks Preservation Commission regarding the landmark designation of Firehouse, Engine Company 305, Hook and Ladder Company 151, located at 111-02 Queens Boulevard (Block 3294, Lot 20), by the Landmarks Preservation Commission on June 12, 2012 (List No. 456/LP No. 2522), Borough of Queens, Community District 6

Pursuant to Section 3020.8(b) of the City Charter, the City Planning Commission shall submit to the City Council a report with respect to the relation of any designation by the Landmarks Preservation Commission, whether of a historic district or a landmark, to the Zoning Resolution, projected public improvements, and any plans for the development, growth, improvement or renewal of the area involved.

On June 12, 2012, the Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) designated the Engine Company 305, Hook and Ladder Company 151, as a city landmark. The firehouse is located at 111-02 Queens Boulevard (Block 3294, Lot 20) in Queens, Community District 6.

Firehouse, Engine Company 305, Hook and Ladder Company 151 ("Firehouse") is located at 111-02 Queens Boulevard in the Forest Hills, Queens. The Firehouse was completed in 1924 to serve the growing population of the Forest Hills community, which had seen a boom in residential construction following the First World War. The building's innovative design is attributed to John R. Sliney, head building inspector for the Fire Department. During his tenure at this position approximately seventy firehouses were constructed throughout the City's five boroughs. The building's design has experienced remarkably few changes in the nearly ninety years since its completion, and the Firehouse continues to serve the Forest Hills community. The two-and-a-half-story, Neo-Medieval style firehouse is clad in red brick laid in a Flemish bond and enlivened with decorative limestone details and subtle patterned brickwork. The asymmetrical massing is accentuated by steep gables clad with copper standing-seam roofs, two prominent square towers (a stair tower and a hose-drying tower) that feature small, round arch window openings and a slender chimney rising above the western elevation.

The landmark site is located in an R6/C1-2 District. With an allowable floor area ratio (FAR) of 3.0 the lot could be developed with a maximum of 16,140 square feet of floor area. The Firehouse contains approximately 12,282 square feet of floor area. Approximately 3,858 square feet of floor area is theoretically available for transfer.

Pursuant to Section 74-79 of the Zoning Resolution, a landmark building may transfer its unused development rights to a lot contiguous to the zoning lot occupied by the landmark or one which is across the street and opposite to the zoning lot occupied by the landmark building or in the case of a corner lot, one which fronts on the same street intersection as the lot occupied by the landmark building.

There are nine potential receiving sites available for the transfer of the landmark's unused floor area. However, the Commission notes that seven of the nine sites are ineligible either because their existing developed floor area exceeds the 20% floor area addition allowed by transfer of development rights regulations or have lot areas that are too small for application.

All landmark buildings or buildings within historic districts are eligible to apply for use and bulk waivers pursuant to Section 74-711 of the Zoning Resolution.

There are no projected public improvements or plans for development, growth, improvement or renewal in the vicinity of the subject landmark.

The subject landmark designation does not conflict with the Zoning Resolution, projected public improvements or any plans for development, growth, improvement or renewal in the vicinity of the landmark.

AMANDA M. BURDEN, FAICP, Chair, KENNETH J. KNUCKLES, Esq., Vice Chairman ANGELA M. BATTAGLIA, RAYANN BESSER, IRWIN G. CANTOR, P.E., ALFRED C. CERULLO, III, BETTY Y. CHEN, MICHELLE R. DE LA UZ, MARIA M. DEL TORO, ANNA HAYES LEVIN, ORLANDO MARIN, SHIRLEY A. MCRAE, Commissioners