May 11, 2011 / Calendar No. 15

N 110277 HKM

IN THE MATTER OF a communication dated March 31, 2011, from the Executive Director of the Landmarks Preservation Commission regarding the landmark designation of the Engineers' Club Building, 32 West 40th Street (Block 841, Lot 69), by the Landmarks Preservation Commission on March 22, 2011 (List No. 440/LP-2429).

Pursuant to Section 3020.8(b) of the New York City Charter, the City Planning Commission shall submit to the City Council a report with respect to the relation of any designation by the Landmarks Preservation Commission, whether a historic district or a landmark, to the Zoning Resolution, projected public improvements, and any plans for the development, growth, improvement or renewal of the area involved.

On March 22, 2011, the Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) designated the Engineers' Club Building (the "Building") located at 32 West 40th Street (Block 841, Lot 69), as a city landmark. The Building is located in Midtown Manhattan on the south side of West 40th Street between Fifth Avenue and Avenue of the Americas, within the Special Midtown District in Community District 5. It was completed in 1907 as headquarters for the Engineers Club which was founded in 1888 and for many years functioned as a social and educational institution for the city's professional engineers. Members of the club included Andrew Carnegie, Herbert Hoover, and Thomas Edison. Carnegie gave a sizeable donation towards the construction of the Building and his own brother-in-law, Henry D. Whitfield, was awarded the commission to design it. Whitfield also designed Pomander Walk, a designated NYC landmark consisting of 27 buildings on the Upper West Side of Manhattan.

The 12-story Building is noteworthy architecturally for its three-story marble base on Corinthian pilasters that separate three round-arched windows and support an ornate frieze and cornice. On top of this is a seven-story red brick shaft which is topped with a three story capital that includes

an ornamental balcony, columns, round arched windows and a deeply projecting modillioned cornice. Due to deterioration both of the cornices, the balcony and parts of the base were replaced with fiberglass replicas in the mid-1990s.

Situated in a C6-4.5 district (maximum FAR 10.0 residential & 12.0 commercial) zoning district, the building's zoning lot (which includes two adjacent tax lots, Lots 70 and 66) measures 10,433 square feet and generates a maximum of approximately 125,196 square feet of floor area.

Pursuant to Section 74-79 of the Zoning Resolution, a landmark building may transfer its unused development rights to a lot contiguous to the zoning lot occupied by the landmark building or one which is across the street and opposite to the zoning lot occupied by the landmark building, or in the case of a corner lot, one which fronts on the same street intersection as the lot occupied by the landmark. Pursuant to Section 81-211 of the Zoning Resolution, transferable development rights for landmarks located in the Special Midtown District are calculated at a Floor Area Ratio of 13.0. Therefore, the 10,433 square-foot zoning lot has approximately 135,629 square feet of floor area available for transfer less existing floor area. The zoning lot contains approximately 90,099 square feet of floor area. Therefore there are approximately 45,530 square feet theoretically available for transfer.

There are five potential receiving sites available for the transfer of the landmark's unused floor area.

Pursuant to Section 74-711 of the Zoning Resolution, landmark buildings or buildings within Historic Districts are eligible to apply for use and bulk waivers upon application to the Landmarks Preservation Commission.

The subject landmark does not conflict with the Zoning Resolution. In addition, the Commission is not aware of any conflicts between the subject landmark designation and projected public

improvements or any plans for development growth, improvement or renewal in the vicinity of the landmark.

AMANDA M. BURDEN, FAICP, Chair

ANGELA M. BATTAGLIA, RAYANN BESSER, IRWIN G. CANTOR, P.E., ALFRED C. CERULLO, III, BETTY Y. CHEN, MARIA M. DEL TORO, RICHARD W. EADDY, NATHAN LEVENTHAL, ANNA HAYES LEVIN, SHIRLEY A. MCRAE, Commissioners