

CITY PLANNING COMMISSION

December 2, 2009 / Calendar No. 5

IN THE MATTER OF a communication dated October 15, 2009, from the Executive Director of the Landmarks Preservation Commission regarding the landmark designation of the Ralph and Ann E. Van Wyck Mead House (later Isaac T. Hopper Home of the Women's Prison Association) building, 110 Second Avenue (Block 448, Lot 4), by the Landmarks Preservation Commission on October 13, 2009 (Designation List No. 419/LP-2331), Borough of Manhattan, Community District 3.

Pursuant to Section 3020.8(b) of the City Charter, the City Planning Commission shall submit to the City Council a report with respect to the relation of any designation by the Landmarks Preservation Commission of the subject property, whether a historic district or a landmark, to the Zoning Resolution, projected public improvements and any plans for the development, growth, improvement or renewal of the area involved.

The landmark site at 110 Second Avenue is located on the east side of Second Avenue between

East 6th Street and East 7th Street in the East Village neighborhood in Manhattan. The building was constructed in 1837-1838 by the Mead family.

The three-story rowhouse building (plus attic and basement) is the only survivor of a row of four houses that served as an enclave for the family of local merchant Ralph Mead. Mead had made his wealth as a wholesale grocer and commission merchant, and when the original occupant declared bankruptcy, Mead himself took possession of the building. He and his second wife Ann Eliza Van Wyck lived there from 1845 to 1857. The house remained in Mead family ownership until 1870. Following a short occupancy period by other private residents, the building was acquired by the Women's Prison Association. That organization was led by noted Quaker abolitionists and prison reform advocates Isaac Tatem Hopper and his daughter Abigail Hopper Gibbons. The building continues to serve the organization and its mission as a rare surviving 19th-century institutional presence in the neighborhood.

Number 110 is a fine example of Greek Revival-style rowhouse architecture. It features machine-pressed red brick at the façade laid in stretcher bond, a high stoop and an areaway with wrought-iron fence, an entrance with Italianate-style, paneled double doors and transom, long windows and cast-iron balcony at the parlor floor, a denticulated cornice and brownstone portico with Ionic fluted columns supporting an entablature.

The landmark site is located in an R7A/C2-5 zoning district. With an allowable floor area ratio (FAR) of 3.45, the zoning lot could be developed with approximately 11,213 square feet of floor area. The proposed landmark building contains approximately 5,476 square feet of floor area on the 3,250 square-foot lot. Therefore, there are approximately 5,737 square feet available for transfer.

Pursuant to Section 74-79 of the Zoning Resolution, a landmark building may transfer its unused development rights to a lot contiguous to the zoning lot occupied by the landmark or one which is across the street and opposite to the lot occupied by the landmark building, or in the case of a corner lot, one which fronts on the same street intersection as the lot occupied by the landmark building.

There are approximately four receiving sites available for the transfer of the landmark's unused floor area. All landmark buildings or buildings within Historic Districts are eligible to apply for use and bulk waivers pursuant to Section 74-711 of the Zoning Resolution.

There are no projected public improvements or plans for development, growth, improvement, or renewal in the vicinity of the landmark building.

The subject landmark designation does not conflict with the Zoning Resolution, projected public improvements or any plans for development, growth, improvement or renewal in the vicinity of the landmark.

AMANDA M. BURDEN, FAICP, Chair KENNETH J. KNUCKLES, Esq., Vice Chairman ANGELA M. BATTAGLIA, RAYANN BESSER, IRWIN G. CANTOR, P.E., ALFRED C. CERULLO, III, BETTY Y. CHEN, MARIA M. DEL TORO, RICHARD W. EADDY, NATHAN LEVENTHAL, ANNA HAYES LEVIN, SHIRLEY A. MCRAE, KAREN A. PHILLIPS, Commissioners