

# Department of Consumer Affairs

Julie Menin Commissioner

# PAID SICK LEAVE: WHAT EMPLOYEES NEED TO KNOW

Under New York City's Earned Sick Time Act (Paid Sick Leave Law), covered employees have the right to use sick leave for the care and treatment of themselves or a family member.

The Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) prepared this sheet to provide guidance to employees about their rights under the law. DCA will update this sheet as appropriate. Please note the date at the bottom of the sheet. To read the law or Frequently Asked Questions about the law, go to nyc.gov/PaidSickLeave.

# **EMPLOYEES COVERED/NOT COVERED BY THE LAW**

Covered	Not Covered
Full-time employees	• Employees who work 80 hours or less a calendar year in
Part-time employees	New York City
Transitional jobs program employees	Students in federal work study programs
Undocumented employees	Employees whose work is compensated by qualified
Employees who are family members but not owners	scholarship programs
Employees who live outside of New York City	Employees of government agencies
	Physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech
Employees must work 80+ hours per calendar year in	language pathologists, audiologists who are licensed by
New York City.	the New York State Department of Education
	These professionals are not covered under the law if
See "Domestic Workers" section on back.	they call in for work assignments at will; determine
	their own work schedule; have the ability to reject or
	accept any assignment referred to them; and are paid
	an average hourly wage, which is at least four times
	the federal minimum wage.
	Independent contractors who do not meet the definition
	of an employee under New York State Labor Law (Go to
	labor.ny.gov and search "Independent Contractors.")
	Participants in Work Experience Programs (WEP)
	Certain employees subject to a collective bargaining
	agreement

**Note**: If your employer has an existing policy allowing employees to use sick leave, the policy must meet or exceed the requirements of the law.

## **NOTICE OF EMPLOYEE RIGHTS**

Employee	Date Written Notice Due to Employee
New	First day of employment
First employed on or after April 1, 2014	
Existing	May 1, 2014
Already working for employer before April 1, 2014	

If you are a covered employee, your employer must give you written notice of your right to sick leave. You have a right to the notice in English and, if available on the DCA website, your primary language. **Keep a copy of the notice**.

# AMOUNT OF SICK LEAVE (See "Domestic Workers" section on back, if applicable.)

Number of Employees Employed by Employer	Amount of Sick Leave per Calendar Year*	Paid or Unpaid Sick Leave	Rate of Pay
5 or more	Up to 40 hours	Paid	Regular hourly rate but no less than \$8 per hour (minimum wage)
1-4	Up to 40 hours	Unpaid	Not Applicable

<sup>\*</sup>Note: "Calendar Year" means any regular and consecutive 12-month period of time determined by an employer. The Notice of Employee Rights must state the employer's calendar year.

06/11/2014 More

## SICK LEAVE ACCRUAL AND USE - IMPORTANT DATES (See "Domestic Workers" section below, if applicable.)

Rate of Accrual	Date Accrual Begins	Date Sick Leave Available for Use
1 hour for every 30 hours worked	April 1, 2014	July 30, 2014
	(Existing employee)	(Existing employee)
	First day of employment	120 days after first day of employment
	(New employee)	(New employee)

Exception: If you are covered by a collective bargaining agreement that is in effect on April 1, 2014, you begin to accrue sick leave under City law beginning on the date that the agreement ends.

Keep a copy of all documents that show your amount of sick leave and your sick leave accrual and use.

# **ACCEPTABLE REASONS TO USE SICK LEAVE**

You can use sick leave when:

- You have a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition; you need to get a medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of your mental or physical illness, injury, or condition; you need to get preventive medical care.
- You must care for a family member who needs medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition, or who needs preventive medical care.
- Your employer's business closes due to a public health emergency or you need to care for a child whose school or child care provider closed due to a public health emergency.

The law recognizes the following as family members: Child (biological, adopted, or foster child; legal ward; child of an employee standing *in loco parentis*); Grandchild; Spouse; Domestic partner; Parent; Grandparent; Child or parent of an employee's spouse or domestic partner; Sibling (including a half, adopted, or step sibling).

#### **ADVANCE NOTICE**

If the need is foreseeable, your employer can require up to seven days advance notice of your intention to use sick leave. If the need is unforeseeable, your employer may require you to give notice as soon as practicable (reasonable). Your employer may require you to provide written verification that you used sick leave for sick leave purposes.

#### **DOCUMENTATION**

Your employer can require documentation from a licensed health care provider if you use more than three consecutive workdays as sick leave. The Paid Sick Leave Law prohibits employers from requiring the health care provider to specify the medical reason for sick leave. Disclosure may be required by other laws.

#### **UNUSED SICK LEAVE**

You can carry over up to 40 hours of unused sick leave to the next calendar year. However, your employer is only required to let you use up to 40 hours of sick leave per calendar year.

#### **RETALIATION**

Your employer cannot retaliate against you for requesting or using sick leave. Retaliation includes any threat, discipline, discharge, demotion, suspension, or reduction in your hours, or any other adverse employment action against you for exercising or attempting to exercise any right guaranteed under the law.

#### **COMPLAINTS**

You may file a complaint with DCA. To get the complaint form, go online to <a href="nyc.gov/PaidSickLeave">nyc.gov/PaidSickLeave</a> or contact **311** (212-NEW-YORK outside NYC).

DCA will conduct an investigation and work with your employer to try to mediate your complaint. DCA will keep your identity confidential unless disclosure is necessary to conduct the investigation, mediate the complaint, or is required by law.

#### **Domestic Workers**

Below is information about amount of sick leave and sick leave accrual and use specific to domestic workers under City law. This leave is in addition to the three days of paid rest to which you are entitled under New York State Labor Law. Go to **labor.ny.gov** and search "Domestic Workers' Bill of Rights." All other information on this sheet applies to you.

Amount of Sick Leave	Paid or Unpaid	Rate of Pay
per Calendar Year		
2 days	Paid	Regular hourly rate but no less than \$8 per hour
		(current minimum wage)
		Go to labor.ny.gov and search "Minimum Wage."

Rate of Accrual	Date Accrual Begins	Date Sick Leave Available for Use
2 days after 1 year	DCA will provide guidance at	DCA will provide guidance at
on the job	nyc.gov/PaidSickLeave	nyc.gov/PaidSickLeave