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Dial “911” for Emergency

New York State Child Abuse Hotline:
1-800-342-3720

VINE
(Victim Information Notification Everyday)

1-888-VINE-4-NY

Victim Information Notification Everyday is a 24 hour
automated hotline that provides victims with the release
date of inmates who are in custody of the New York
City or State Department of Corrections prison system.

NYPD website: http://www.nyc.gov/nypd

Brooklyn: Criminal Court (718) 250-3300
Family Court (347) 401-9600

Bronx: Criminal Court (718) 590-2858
Family Court (718) 618-2098

Manhattan: Criminal Court (212) 335-4300
Family Court (646) 386-5200

Queens: Criminal Court (718) 286-6550
Family Court (718) 298-0197

Staten Island: Criminal Court (718) 876-6300
Family Court (718) 675-8800

New York City Family Justice Centers Locations

350 Jay Street - 15th floor (718) 250-5097
Brooklyn, N.Y. 11201

162-02 82nd Avenue (718) 575-4500
Kew Gardens
Queens, N.Y. 11415

198 East 161st Street (718) 508-1222
Bronx, N.Y. 10451

Safety Tips at Work
• Tell a co-worker/supervisor about the situation

and ask that individual to call the police in an
emergency.

• Have a back-up person if the primary contact is
not available.

• Ask someone to screen your calls.
• Plan your entry and exit each day.
• Keep a copy of your order of protection with you

at all times.
• Provide security and/or reception areas with a

picture of the abuser.
• Request that your office or desk be placed in a

safe location.
• Request help from an employee assistance

program.
• Plan an escape route.
• Have a signal for help (whistle/alarm/cell phone).
• Find a safe room with a phone to use in an

emergency.
• Federal, State, and/or local laws prohibit

employment discrimination based on your
situation as a victim of domestic violence.

• Notify your local Domestic Violence Prevention
Officer.

For Further Assistance and Resources:

Police Emergency Dial 911

New York City Information/Services call 311

New York City Domestic Violence Hotline 
(24 hour) 1-800-621-HOPE (4673)

For the hearing impaired: 1-800-810-7444

New York State Domestic Violence Hotline
English: 1-800-942-6906
Spanish: 1-800-942-6908
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SAFETY PLANNING
Whatever else you may decide to do, many victims of
domestic violence find it helpful to make a safety plan.
You can make a safety plan yourself, call the domestic
violence hotline or call your local police/housing police
service area Domestic Violence Prevention Officer. Do
not share this safety plan with anyone who may reveal
your plans to the abuser. Whether you are with your
abusive partner or have already ended the relationship,
there are things you can do that may be helpful in
planning for your future safety.

Safety while still at home:
• Practice an escape plan for emergencies. When

possible, go over it with a counselor, Domestic
Violence Prevention Officer or victim advocate.

• Teach children emergency escape action and
proper telephone use.

• Use noisemakers such as a whistle or personal
alarm to summon assistance.

• Always keep change for a pay phone set-aside in a
safe place for yourself and your children.

• Ask neighbors to listen, watch and call for police
assistance if they see suspicious people, activities,
or hear arguing.

• Notify someone immediately if you think that your
abuser is about to become violent.

• Choose a code word that you can use with friends,
family and children to alert them to call for help.

• When violence seems imminent, avoid the kitchen,
bathroom and rooms that do not have exits to the
outside.

• Get an order of protection.
• Remember you can use a deactivated cell phone to

call 911 for emergencies free of charge.

Preparing to leave:
• Remember that the danger may get worse while

attempting to escape or after leaving a violent
relationship.

• Review the safety plan with a counselor or Domestic
Violence Prevention Officer.

• Increase your independence by opening a bank
account, getting credit cards in your own name and
obtaining job skills.

Escape Bag If you leave
Prepare a bag, box or suitcase filled with things you
will need if you leave. Keep it in a safe place away
from home, if possible. You should keep the bag a
secret from the abuser or anyone who could tell the
abuser you are leaving. Place original documents in
this bag. Avoid taking items that may alert the abuser
to your plan.

The bag should contain:
___ Change of clothing for you and your children
___ Spare keys to car and home
___ Medication needed
___ Identification (birth certificates, driver’s license,

green cards, work permits, and social security
cards for you and the children)

___ Copy of your order of protection
___ Your address book/phone numbers
___ A picture of the abuser for I.D. purposes
___ Personal hygiene products (tooth brush, deodorant,

toiletries, etc.)
___ Divorce, custody or injunction papers
___ Diapers, formula, toys and blankets
___ Car, health and life insurance papers
___ Checkbook, ATM card
___ Money, credit cards, bank books, etc.

What to do after you leave:
• If you move, have rental documents, phone, utilities,

and all other paperwork that would reveal your new
location to the offender in someone else’s name.

• Install door, window, smoke alarms and metal
doors. You may also call the Crime Prevention
Officer at your local police precinct/housing police
service area for a free crime prevention survey.

• Get an unlisted phone number (change old number,
if necessary) and utilize Special Telephone Services
such as: voice mail, caller I.D., call block, call
tracing (*57), last number re-dial (*69) or call
the Unlawful Call Center at 1-800-518-5507
(formally the Call Annoyance Bureau). A police
report may be required by the Telephone Company
for unwanted or harassing calls.

• Use caution when making collect or other calls
billed to another number when calling the abuser
(these calls can be traced). Use a pay phone instead.

• Have a tape recording device attached to your
phone and available for use when you are speaking
to the abuser.

• Petition for an order of protection if you do not
have one.

• Keep copies of the order at home and with you.
• Have another person deliver and pick up your

children if a judge orders visitation.
• Use a post office box instead of a street address.

Check it during busy hours.
• Avoid stores, banks and other locations that you

have used or visited when living with the abuser.
• Report suspicious activities and violations of the

order of protection to the police.
• Make special arrangements to pick-up children

from school.
• Make the same arrangements with babysitters.
• Inform school officials and request that they call

you about any unusual contact by the abuser.
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