

# Inspection Checklist: Stoop Line Stand

Does your store have a stand or booth (or stoop line stand) on the sidewalk from which you sell fruits, vegetables, soft drinks, candy, or flowers?

Use this checklist to learn what our inspectors look for and help avoid violations. All businesses also must comply with the General Retail Inspection Checklist, which is included at the end for easy reference.

	Requirement	Do you meet this requirement?
	License	
1	Your business must have a DCA <u>Stoop Line Stand</u> license to sell fruits, vegetables, soft drinks, candy, ice cream, or flowers on the sidewalk outside your store.	□ Yes
2	DCA's new combined license and complaint sign must be posted where all customers can see it. Until you receive the new sign, which DCA is sending during the license renewal period, you must continue to post both your license and the complaint sign.	□ Yes
	<b>Note</b> : DCA combined the license and the complaint sign, previously separate documents, into one consolidated sign. New licensees and licensees that renew after October 15, 2013 will receive the new sign. Renewing licensees must remove the old license document and complaint sign that DCA previously provided and post the new combined sign. For more information about this new regulation, go to <b>nyc.gov/consumers</b> .	
3	The stoop line stand cannot be operated by or leased to another business.	□ Yes
	Items That Can Be Sold	
4	Only fruits; vegetables; soft drinks (cold, flavored or carbonated, nonalcoholic drink); confectionary (candy, cake, pastries); ice cream; and flowers can be sold at a stoop line stand.	□ Yes
5	You can display items on your stoop line stand that you do not sell inside your store, as long as your store is more than 200 feet away from a store that sells those items.	□ Yes
	Sizes	
6	The stoop line stand cannot be larger than 4 feet in width.	□ Yes
	<b>Tip</b> : The stand can be up to 5 feet in width if DCA has given you permission.	
7	If the sidewalk is at least 16 feet wide, there must be at least a 9 $\frac{1}{2}$ -foot clear pathway on the sidewalk in front of the stand, as measured from the curb to the end of the stand.	□ Yes
8	No part of the stoop line stand or the display can be higher than 7 feet tall.	□ Yes



## Inspection Checklist: Stoop Line Stand

	Requirement	Do you meet this requirement?
	Physical Characteristics	
9	Both ends and the front of the stoop line stand must be enclosed by a fence or partition of wood or another rigid material.	□ Yes
10	Nothing can be stored or displayed outside of the enclosed area (e.g., boxes, crates, etc.).	□ Yes
11	A seasonal awning can only be used December through March. The hanging awning must be flexible vinyl or canvas and extend no more than 12 inches onto the sidewalk beyond the stand width.	□ Yes
12	The outside of the stand must be smooth and free of anything that could damage the clothing of or injure a passerby.	□ Yes
13	Water and ice cannot leak onto or be stored on the sidewalk.	□ Yes
14	Customers may only pay for goods from the stoop line stand inside the store.	🗆 Yes
15	Fruits, vegetables, and flowers cannot be washed, trimmed, bunched, or prepared in the stoop line stand or on the sidewalk.	□ Yes

Updated 10/09/2013



Department of Consumer Affairs

Julie Menin Commissioner

42 Broadway New York, NY 10004 Visit nyc.gov and search "Business ( Toolbox"

Contact 311 (212) NEW-YORK (Outside NYC) New York City businesses must comply with all relevant federal, State, and City laws and rules, which are available in DCA's Business Toolbox. Businesses are responsible for knowing and complying with current regulations that affect their business.



Does your business sell goods or services?

#### Use this checklist to learn what our inspectors look for and help avoid violations:

	Requirement	Do you meet this requirement?
	Price Lists for Services	
1	A price list with the types of services and the prices of those services must be displayed.	□ Yes
2	The price list must be clearly posted or clearly displayed near the cash register and/or at the place(s) where orders are placed.	□ Yes
3	If the price list states a minimum charge (e.g., "from \$") or states a price "and up," it must state the reason for the different prices and include the range of prices.	□ Yes
4	If there is a sale or promotion, the pre-sale prices must also be posted for comparison.	□ Yes
5	<ul> <li>Prices for services cannot be based on gender.</li> <li>Tip: Words like "men's," "women's," and "ladies'" cannot be used to describe the price; the difference must be described in a gender neutral way. (Example: Above the shoulder hair = \$15; Below the shoulder hair = \$30)</li> <li>Tip: Instead of listing prices for shirts and blouses, the price must be described based on physical differences between the shirts. (Example: sequins, ruffles, fancy buttons)</li> </ul>	☐ Yes
	Pricing for Goods	
6	All items offered for sale must have a clearly visible price.	🗆 Yes
7	For most items, the price must be attached to the item or on a sign where the item is displayed.	□ Yes
8	If your store's annual revenue is more than \$2 million or you are a chain store, you must individually price most food products, as well as paper products, detergents, soaps, nonprescription drugs, and health and beauty aids.	□ Yes
9	Milk; eggs; fresh produce; snack foods that are less than 5 ounces; frozen foods; jars of baby food; and items that are less than 3 cubic inches, under 3 ounces and under \$1 do not have to be individually priced, but must have shelf prices.	□ Yes



	Requirement	Do you meet this requirement?
	Signs	
10	Sale signs that advertise a percent discount—example: 20-50% off—must state the minimum percent discount. <b>Tip</b> : Both the minimum and maximum numbers must be of equal size.	□ Yes
	20-50% OFF OFF	
11	<ul> <li>Sale signs cannot contain any of the following phrases:</li> <li>"Our list price"</li> <li>Below "manufacturer's wholesale cost"</li> <li>"Manufacturer's cost"</li> </ul>	☐ Yes
12	Businesses that sell goods and services must post a refund policy. <b>Tip</b> : A refund policy must be posted at each register, point of sale, or at each entrance.	□ Yes
	<b>Tip</b> : Even if the policy is not to give refunds, a sign must be posted stating "No Refunds."	
13	The refund policy must state any and all conditions or limitations to getting a refund. For example:	□ Yes
	<ul> <li>Businesses must disclose any fees charged for refunds, such as "restocking fees."</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>If a business will not provide refunds for "as is" items, it must disclose that.</li> <li>Businesses must also disclose whether the refund will be in cash, credit, or store credit only.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>If proof of purchase is required for a refund, the sign must say so.</li> <li>A business that chooses not to offer refunds must post a sign that states, "No Refund," or words to that effect.</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>The sign must state that a written copy of the store's refund policy is available on request.</li> </ul>	



	Requirement	Do you meet this requirement?
14	If there are limitations on using credit cards, such as minimum purchase amounts, the policy must be clearly posted near the register and the entrance.	Yes
	Receipts	
15	Receipts must be given to customers for purchases over \$20 and upon request for purchases between \$5 and \$20.	□ Yes
	<b>Tip</b> : This does not apply to food and drink that is meant to be consumed on the premises.	
16	The receipt must include each of the following:	□ Yes
	<ul> <li>Date of purchase</li> <li>Amount paid for each item</li> <li>Total amount paid</li> <li>Separate statement of tax</li> <li>Name and address of store</li> </ul>	
17	Receipts for electronics that cost more than \$100 must also include the make and model number of the item.	□ Yes
	Price Accuracy	
18	When items are scanned, the price must match the lowest item price, shelf price, sale price, or advertised price.	□ Yes
19	If no scanners are used, the price at checkout must still match the lowest item price, shelf price, sale price, or advertised price.	□ Yes
20	Tax cannot be charged on tax-exempt items.	□ Yes
	<b>Tip</b> : Check with the <u>New York State Department of Taxation and Finance</u> for a complete list of which items are exempt.	



	Requirement	Do you meet this requirement?
	Layaway Plans	
21	<ul> <li>If layaway is offered, each of the following written disclosures must be provided to consumers prior to accepting any payments over \$50 in 4 installments or more:</li> <li>Description of the item, including name, brand, color, and model number</li> <li>Total cost of the item including tax</li> <li>Charge to use layaway and any cancellation fee</li> <li>Duration of the layaway plan</li> <li>Payment schedule and any consequences of missed payments</li> <li>Refund policy</li> <li>Notice of whether or not the item won't be removed from inventory until a certain number of payments have been made</li> <li><i>Example 1</i>: NOTICE: NO MERCHANDISE WILL BE REMOVED FROM</li> </ul>	☐ Yes
	INVENTORY UNTIL X% OF THE PURCHASE PRICE HAS BEEN PAID. Example 2: ATTENTION: YOUR SELECTION OF MERCHANDISE WILL NOT BE ORDERED UNTIL YOU HAVE MADE YOUR NEXT TO FINAL PAYMENT.	
	Expired Over-the-counter Medication	
22	It is illegal to sell over-the-counter medication after the expiration date on the label.	Yes



Department of Consumer Affairs

Julie Menin Commissioner

42 Broadway New York, NY 10004 Visit nyc.gov and search "Business Toolbox"

Contact 311 (212) NEW-YORK (Outside NYC) New York City businesses must comply with all relevant federal, State, and City laws and rules, which are available in DCA's Business Toolbox. Businesses are responsible for knowing and complying with current regulations that affect their business.