Mayor Adams, Acting Fire Commissioner Kavanagh Honor Heroes at Annual FDNY Medal Day Ceremony

June 1, 2022

NEW YORK – New York City Mayor Eric Adams and New York City Fire Department (FDNY) Acting Commissioner Laura Kavanagh today honored New York City's Bravest at the annual FDNY Medal Day Ceremony. Medals were presented to FDNY firefighters, paramedics, emergency medical technicians (EMTs), fire marshals, and fire and emergency medical services (EMS) officers for their life-saving work throughout 2021.

"I am proud to honor New York's Bravest today for their tremendous acts of valor and bravery protecting our city," said **Mayor Adams**. "When we needed heroes, the men and women of the FDNY answered the call, putting their lives on the line to keep New Yorkers safe. On behalf of 8.8 million New Yorkers, thank you to the firefighters, paramedics, EMTs, fire marshals, and all of the FDNY members who run towards danger instead of away from it every day to protect our city."

"Our medal recipients represent the very best of the FDNY and demonstrate the strength of the pillars on which the FDNY stands — bravery, dedication, and service," said **Acting Fire Commissioner Kavanagh**. "When called to act, they did not hesitate. When they heard cries for help, when people were trapped by flames and smoke, and when New Yorkers were in dire need of medical care, they pushed forward and saved lives."

 Firefighter Darren Harsch of Squad Company 270, who received the Chief of Department Peter J. Ganci Jr. Medal and the New York State Honorary Fire Chiefs Association Medal for the rescue of a fellow firefighter trapped under burning debris following a roof collapse at a fire in Queens.

- Lieutenant Paul Ardizzone from the Hazardous Material Tactical
 Unit (HAZTAC) and Paramedics Shewain George of Station
 32 and Hugh Smith of Station 39, who all received the Christopher J.
 Prescott Medal for administering lifesaving advanced-life support treatment to two trapped civilians at a collapse in Brooklyn.
- Lieutenant Dwight Scott of Station 17 and EMTs Christopher Juanilla of Station 17 and Tiffany Robledo of Station 40, who were all inaugural recipients of the Yadira Arroyo Medal for their actions to disarm an individual stabbing people inside a store in the Bronx and then provide medical care to the injured individuals. The medal is named in memory of FDNY EMT Yadira Arroyo, who was killed in the line of duty on March 16, 2017.
- The members of Ladder Company 41 Lieutenant Patrick
 Twomey and Firefighters John Maguire, Peter Quinn, Robert Rivera,
 James Soutar, and Kevin G. Hallinan who received the World Trade
 Center Memorial Medal for rescuing 6 people from a fire in the Bronx.

###