CITY PLANNING COMMISSION

October 12, 2010/Calendar No. 2

N 110046 HKR

IN THE MATTER OF a communication dated August 19, 2010 from the Executive Director of the Landmarks Preservation Commission regarding the landmark designation of the Headquarters Troop, 51st Cavalry Brigade Armory at 321 Manor Road (Block 332, Lot 4), by the Landmarks Preservation Commission on August 10, 2010 (Designation List No. 432/LP-2369), Borough of Staten Island, Community District 1.

Pursuant to Section 3020.8(b) of the New York City Charter, the City Planning Commission shall submit to the City Council a report with respect to the relation of any designation by the Landmarks Preservation Commission, whether of a historic district or a landmark, to the Zoning Resolution, projected public improvements, and any plans for the development, growth, improvement or renewal of the area involved.

On August 10, 2010, the Landmarks Preservation Commission (LPC) designated the Headquarters Troop, 51st Cavalry Brigade Armory located at 321 Manor Road (Block 332, Lot 34) in Staten Island, as a city landmark.

The Headquarters Troop, 51st Cavalry Brigade Armory is located in the Castleton Corners section of Staten Island on the southeast corner of the intersection of Manor Road and Martling Avenue. The Armory was constructed in 1926-27 to house the Headquarters Troop of the 51st Cavalry Brigade, a unit of the New York National Guard. The Armory was built on a 19^{1/2}-acre estate called Manor Farm, which in the 1890's was one of the city's leading equestrian centers. Currently, the landmark site is surrounded by one and two family homes with Clove Lakes Park to the east.

The building's architects, Harold H. Werner & August P. Windolph, designed the Armory in the Castellated style, which was inspired by medieval European castles and fortresses. The Castellated style was a popular armory style in the late 19th century and early 20th century. The Headquarters Troop Armory was the last Castellated armory to be built in New York City.



The Headquarters Troop Armory has an impressive main façade which is set back from Manor Road. The main entrance is framed by two crenellated three-story round towers. The armory displays many of the style's signature details such as machicolated cornices, crenellated parapets and corner turrets. When the armory opened it contained a troop assembly and mounted drill hall, a north and south wing and a stable.

After World War II, the armory came to house tanks and other armored vehicles. In 1950 a brick, gabled-roofed Motor Vehicle Storage Building and Service Center was built directly northeast of the armory, designed by Alfred Hopkins and Associates. In 1969-70 an addition to the Armory was built to house ordinance rooms and an expanded drill hall, designed by the New York State Office of General Services.

An additional vehicle and maintenance building, located east of the armory, was completed in 1980 but is not part of this Landmark designation. The Landmark designation is limited to only the western portion of the site which includes the Armory building, the Motor Vehicle Storage Building and Service Center. Today, the Headquarters Troop, 51st Cavalry Brigade Amory remains a National Guard installation.

The landmark site is located in an R1-1 zoning district. Pursuant to Section 74-79 of the Zoning Resolution, transfer of development rights is not permitted for landmark sites located in R1-1 zoning districts. All landmark buildings or buildings within Historic Districts are eligible to apply for use and bulk waivers pursuant to Section 74-711 of the Zoning Resolution.

The subject landmark does not conflict with the Zoning resolution. In addition, the Commission is not aware of any conflicts between the subject landmark designation and projected public improvements or any plans for development, growth, improvement, or renewal in the vicinity of the landmark building.

AMANDA M. BURDEN, FAICP, Chair KENNETH J. KNUCKLES, Esq., Vice Chairman RAYANN BESSER, IRWIN G. CANTOR, P.E., ALFRED C. CERULLO, III, BETTY Y. CHEN, MARIA M. DEL TORO, RICHARD W. EADDY, NATHAN LEVENTHAL, ANNA HAYES LEVIN, KAREN A. PHILLIPS, Commissioners