

## Domestic or Household Employees: Statement of Employee Rights and Employer Responsibilities

This handout describes some of the basic rights of domestic or household employees and some responsibilities that their employers must fulfill under New York City, New York State, and federal law. Please note that this document does not list every employee right or employer responsibility. For more information about a specific right or responsibility, you should contact the relevant agency listed on the back.

**Minimum Wage:** All employees are entitled to be paid at least the minimum wage of \$8 per hour.

**Overtime:** Employees who work overtime are entitled to be paid at one and one-half times the regular rate of pay. An employee who does not live in the employer's home is entitled to this overtime rate after working 40 hours per week. An employee who lives in the employer's home is entitled to this overtime rate after working 44 hours per week.

**Timely Payment:** Employees must be paid their full salary on a weekly basis, and within seven calendar days of the concluding workweek. Employers must also provide a statement that shows the employee's gross wages, deductions, and net wages.

**Time Off:** Employees are entitled to at least one day of rest (24 consecutive hours) every week and at least three days of paid rest after one year of work for the same employer.

**Paid Sick Leave:** Employees who have worked for the same employer for at least one year and who work more than 80 hours a calendar year in New York City are entitled to two days of paid sick leave. Paid Sick Leave is in addition to the three days of paid rest required under New York State Labor Law.

**Meals and Lodging:** There are minimum standards for meals and lodging which, in part, provide that employees who work a six-hour shift are entitled to a meal break of at least 30 minutes during the course of the shift.

**Notice:** Employers must notify employees at the time of hiring of the rate of pay and regular payday. Employers must give employees the required Notice of Employee Rights created by the Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA). The notice outlines employees' minimum rights under New York City's Paid Sick Leave Law. Additionally, employers must notify employees in writing of the employer's policy on sick leave, vacation, personal leave, holidays, and hours of work. Employers must also notify employees in writing of the date of termination from employment and the date of cancellation of employee benefits, not more than five working days after the date of termination from employment.

**Record Keeping:** Employers must maintain accurate records for three years, showing the hours worked; the rate of pay; the deductions taken from wages; and the name, address, and date of birth of every employee.

**Social Security:** Social Security and Medicare taxes must be paid for all employees earning more than \$1,400 annually. Employees must pay half of the amount due, or 7.65% of the gross wages, which is to be deducted from wages earned. Additionally, employers must pay half of the amount due, or 7.65% of the gross wages, which is to be paid from the employer's own funds. Employers must obtain an employer i.d. number from the Social Security Administration and must keep an accurate accounting of tax deductions.

**Income Taxes:** Employers are not required to withhold income taxes from an employee's wages unless the employee asks the employer to do so in writing and both parties agree.

**Workers' Compensation:** Employers must buy workers' compensation coverage for employees who work more than 40 hours per week. Workers' Compensation provides compensation for injuries or death that occur during the course of employment. Employers cannot deduct the cost of these payments from the employee's salary.

**Disability Benefits Insurance:** Employees who work at least 40 hours per week and are injured or become sick or pregnant outside of the workplace and miss more than seven days of work as a result are entitled to disability benefits.

**Unemployment Insurance:** Employees who earn more than \$500 in a quarter of a calendar year are covered by unemployment insurance if they lose their jobs. Employers must make quarterly unemployment insurance payments following a formula set by the New York State Department of Taxation and Finance. Employers cannot deduct the cost of these payments from the employee's salary.

**No Retaliation:** Employers are prohibited from retaliating against employees who assert their rights under City, state, and federal law.

If you have questions about these rights or responsibilities and how they apply to you, contact the following government agencies:

**U.S. Department of Labor: 212-264-8185** 

U.S. Social Security Administration: 212-264-2500

Internal Revenue Service: 1-800-829-1040

New York State Department of Labor: 1-888-52-LABOR (1-888-525-2267)

New York State Workers' Compensation Board: 718-802-6933

New York City Department of Consumer Affairs: Call 311 (212-NEW-YORK outside NYC). Employees can also email <a href="mailto:PaidSickLeave@dca.nyc.gov">PaidSickLeave@dca.nyc.gov</a> with questions about New York City's Paid Sick Leave Law.